top of page
  • Writer's pictureASWWU Outdoors

Snakes, Storms, and Bears. Oh My!

My parents took me on many outdoor adventures while I was growing up. From camping during blizzards, to climbing Mt. Whitney when I was 10, to floating rivers on blow up mattresses, they provided me with plenty of adventures. But in August 2017, I decided to return the favor and teach them how to rock climb.


The day started out well—a crisp morning quickly changed to a sunny and breezeless day. We were in Sinks Canyon, Wyoming, and we knew that we had to keep an eye out for bears and other wildlife. But as we got closer to the wall, our excitement outgrew our caution.

I started an easy 5.7 lead, then let my parents take turns trying the climb out. It was a strange moment, instructing my dad how to belay and giving beta to my mom while reassuring them at the same time. It seemed like I should have no right to tell them how to do something, but they were patient learners, and the excitement they felt after accomplishing the climb was lovely to witness.


We moved on to a couple more climbs until everyone was tired and clouds covered the sky, threatening to rain. Just as I was cleaning the final route, thunder as loud as a canon boomed above us, and we had to race to a rock outcropping to wait out the intense downpouring. It stopped as quickly as it began, and we raced for our campsite before it could trap us again.



Dad was in front leading and I was close behind him when he stopped so suddenly on the trail that I almost ran into his backpack. Just under the lip of the rock, a foot or two in front of his shoes, was a rattlesnake. Suddenly every rock, crevice, and bush near me seemed threatening. It rattled furiously, but I was disturbed to discover that although we were very close to it, it was hard to hear.


We were able to retreat and reroute without angering it further, and we vigilantly picked our way down the mountain. At the bottom, a hiker with a dog warned us of a bear he had seen less than five minutes ago.


While more adventurous than expected, leading out an excursion with my parents and showing them the sport that I love turned out to be one of my favorite memories—snakes, bears, thunderstorms and all. Bringing your parents along on your next climbing trip may turn out to be way more fun that you expect, but be ready for just about anything.


-Meghan Spracklen


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page